SuperSportSchools Cricket

Beaufort en Modikoane shows their worth on second day of Khaya Majola Week

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 17 December 2019 Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

NewsGEmihleMgoqiThe two best performances of the second day of the annual Khaya Majola Week in the KwaZulu-Natal Midlands belonged to two players who will be representing South Africa at the u19 ICC World Cup next year.

Hopefully, Luke Beaufort (Eastern Province) and Odirile Modikoane (North West) could take their form into the World Cup that will be hosted by South Africa from 17 January until 9 February.

Beaufort struck an unbeaten 133 runs against Free State at Hilton College Hart-Davis Oval. This was the only century of the second day. Beaufort hit 12 fours and a solitary six in his innings.

He combined with Sonwabiso Tshona (29*) for an unbeaten 118-run partnership over the fifth wicket. This was however not enough to secure a victory over the Free Staters.

Marco de Kock (56) and Lerato Nqoyi (36) shared an opening partnership of 96 runs to lay the foundation for Free State to force a draw against Eastern Province.

Modikoane bamboozled Border with his spin bowling as he helped North West to a victory. He removed six batsmen at the cost of 60 runs from the crease. Stuart Els (73) and Emihle Mgoqi (57) did provide some resistance with a partnership of 107 runs over the third wicket.

North West reached a massive 296/7 in their first innings thanks to the opening batsmen, Van Zyl Smit (95) and Saad Shabbir (32), laying the foundation with a 101-run partnership.

This provided the platform for Jannie Claassens (65) to play with the necessary freedom as he struck ten boundaries of which four were maximums. Claassens is the son of former Springbok centre by the same name.

Gauteng’s medium pacer Tumelo Yeki (5/46) provided the only other five-wicket haul of the second day as his side secured a victory on the first innings against the hosts, KwaZulu-Natal Inland.

The batting of Jack Lees (63), Levert Manje (49) and Emmanuel Motswiri (40) also played a major role in Gauteng’s victory.

Western Province was put in a favourable position by Lehan Botha (70) and Jonathan Bird (66) who shared a 128-run partnership over the second wicket.

It was however like on Day 1 the bat of Jordan Hermann (72*) who had the last laugh as the opening batsman of Northerns faced 155 deliveries in his innings

KwaZulu-Natal could also not capitalise on a solid first innings of 282/8 thanks to a second-wicket partnership between Francis Moran (95) and Jared Oosthuizen (77).

PHOTO: Theo Garrun

Summarised Scorecards: 

KwaZulu-Natal Inland first innings 204 (Jason Login 42, Asanda Langa 29, Michael Booth 27; Tumelo Yeki 5/46, Shaveer Khan 2/27); Gauteng first innings 220/7 (Jack Lees 63, Levert Manje 49, Emmanuel Motswiri 40, Michael Copeland 33; Michael Booth 2/31, Sanele Mbatha 2/31); KwaZulu-Natal Inland second innings 22/0 (Andile Simelane 12*). Gauteng won on first innings.

Western Province first innings 272 (Lehan Botha 70, Jonathan Bird 66, Thembani Ngcizela 48, Guy Sheena 32; Christiaan Oberholer 2/30, Prince Trotter 2/36); Northerns first innings 164/5 (Jordan Hermann 72*, Zeeshan Ismail 38*, Hanu Viljoen 30; Imraan Philander 2/19). Match Drawn. 

Eastern Province first innings 249/4 (Luke Beaufort 133*, Nicholas Keevy 33, Jade Smith 31, Sonwabiso Tshona 29*; Gordon Taje 2/28); Free State first innings 189/3 (Marco de Kock 56, Pheko Moletsane 37*, Lerato Nqoyi 36, Ruan Cronjé 28; Sonwabiso Tshona 2/23). Match Drawn.  

KwaZulu-Natal first innings 282/8 (Francis Moran 95, Jared Oosthuizen 77, Cade Carmichael 27; Jaun Wilson 3/53); Boland first innings 161/9 (Andrew Whaits 42, Jaydin Booysen 28*; Gareth Beavan 3/31, Jordan Hendrikse 2/26). Match Drawn.

North West first innings 296/7 (Van Zyl Smit 95, Jannie Claassens 65, Phemelo Sepati 46, Saad Shabbir 32; Nqaba Peter 3/53, Matthew Fourie 3/65); Border first innings 190 (Stuart Els 73, Emihle Mgoqi 57; Odirile Modikoane 6/60, Karabelo Matlawe 4/66). North West won on first innings.

Northern Cape first innings 114 (Foster Lubbe 23, Casper du Plessis 22; Badaal Parag 4/13, Adriaan de Vries 2/27); Easterns first innings 216/7 (Bonginkosi Skosana 61*, Neil Bothma 37, Saahil Khan 32, WP Myburgh 30; Resegofaditswe Mothibi 4/54); Northern Cape second innings 49/5 (Joshua Barends 20; Nsizwa Motsogi 2/1). Easterns won outright. 

Limpopo first innings 142 (Gerhardus Fourie 49; Tyrese Karelse 3/20, Johann Muller 2/19); South Western Districts first innings 125 (Johann Muller 61; Gerhardus Fourie 3/22, Lilama Shilubane 2/14); Limpopo second innings 71/5 (Nhlamulo Mboweni 31; Tyrese Karelse 2/0, Heath Richards 2/14); South Western Districts second innings 60/5 (Johann Muller 20; Thomas Mayes 4/33). Limpopo won outright.  

Namibia first innings 82 (Nicol Loftie-Eaton 38; Akhulile Makatu 3/12, Jacques Vosloo 3/19, Kyle Christie 2/5); Mpumalanga first innings 94 (Neil Henning 25; Ramon Wilmot 4/12, Stefan Bezuidenhout 3/17, Nicol Loftie-Eaton 2/5); Namibia second innings 107/2 (Nicol Loftie-Eaton 51*, Ramon Wilmot 25*); Mpumalanga second innings 23/0 (Kyle Klesse 11*, Zuan Swart 11*). Mpumalanga won on first innings.

[powr-comments id=”2ba602aa_1576603989759″]


Leave a Reply