SuperSportSchools Cricket

Dolphins secure Cubs Week title

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 6 January 2019

The Dolphins is the new champions of Cricket South Africa’s annual Cubs Week after keeping their unbeaten status with a 47-run victory over the Cape Cobras on the penultimate day of the tournament.

The Dolphins will face the Warriors tomorrow in their final clash of the tournament in a match that has nothing more than pride at stake. Opening batsman Thamsanqa Khumalo (113) scored a century against the Cobras as his side managed 270/7 in their allotted 50 overs.

Andile Mogakane also produced an allround performance as he chipped in with a half-century (56) as well as picking up three wickets at the cost of only 18 runs. Yves Kamanzi (4/29) was the pick of the bowlers for the Dolphins as the Cobras were restricted to 223.

Ruben Terblanché (92) missed out on his century for the Cobras but continued his excellent form at the Cubs Week.

The Warriors needed seven runs from the last over to secure a victory over the Lions at the Van der Stel grounds in Stellenbosch. Lions’ allrounder Marco Jansen (1/38) stepped up to the plate and only conceded two runs during the final over of the match.

The Lions recorded 231/7 in their allotted over thanks to contributions by Michael Copeland (57), Jansen (47) and Bryce Parsons (45). For the Warriors Matt Dewar (52) and Tristan Stubbs (51) recorded half-centuries but could not manage to convert their innings.

Jandre Pretorius (97*) just missed out on his century as the Titans suffered yet another defeat against the Knights. Musa Twala (52) also contributed with his half-century as the Titans reached a competitive 217/4 in a shortened match.

It was however the heroics of Calvin Flanegan (83*) and Pheko Moletsane (30*) with the bat that helped the Knights home. They’ve shared an unbeaten 98-run partnership over the fifth wicket.

Summarised Scorecards:

Dolphins 270/7 (Thamsanqa Khumalo 113, Andile Mogakane 56, Gareth Schreuder 31*; Siya Plaatjie 3/32); Cape Cobras 223 (Ruben Terblanché 92, Bonga Makhakha 29, Achille Cloete 26*; Yves Kamanzi 4/29, Andile Mogakane 3/18). Dolphins won by 47 runs.

Lions 231/7 (Michael Copeland 57, Marco Jansen 47, Bryce Parsons 45; Nonenela Yikha 2/32, Matthew Fourie 2/42); Warriors 227/8 (Matt Dewar 52, Tristan Stubbs 51, Nicholas Fowler 32*, Akhanya Rebe 30; Bryce Parsons 3/42, Kgaudise Molege 2/42). Lions won by four runs.

Titans 217/4 (Jandré Pretorius 97*, Musa Twala 52; Thabiso Lekhoana 2/27); Knights 221/4 (Calvin Flanegan 83*, Pheko Moletsane 30*, CP Klijnhans 25; Neo Felane 1/24). Knights won by six wickets.


Leave a Reply