SuperSportSchools Cricket

Eastern Province break Gauteng’s three-year winning streak

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 18 December 2016

Eastern Province (EP) won their time cricket fixture against Gauteng on first innings, breaking the latter’s three-year winning streak on Day Two of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week in Bloemfontein on Saturday. Gauteng had not lost a game at Coke Week since their main match versus Western Province in Potchefstroom in 2012.

At University of Free State’s main oval, EP’s Jade de Klerk got the match-turning run out of Muhammed Mayet (15), earning him the Coca-Cola Hero of the Day award for his inspired effort. 

De Klerk also got rid of Mitchell van Buuren (62), Ntokozo Mahlaba (0) and Justin Watson (0) in quick succession after the run out to help secure the victory. He finished with bowling figures of 4/62.

Gauteng were bowled out for 154 runs with only two deliveries left in the day’s play. Lutho Sipamla got the final wicket when he removed Connor de Boer (0) after frustrating EP for 21 deliveries.

Gauteng’s Katlego Thena will be disappointed with the loss after taking a remarkable 5/29 to restrict EP to 226.
Elsewhere, Easterns managed to upset Western Province (WP) thanks to a century by Louis Geldenhuys (104). They also won the match on the first innings.

Geldenhuys’s ton was one of four on the day. Free State’s Christopher Schreuder (126*), Boland’s Benjamin Henderson (120*) and SWD’s Jean du Plessis (104*) were the other three.

Opening batsman Schreuder struck 14 fours and two sixes in his outstanding innings at the Mangaung Oval against KwaZulu-Natal Inland. He shared a partnership of 93 runs for the second wicket with Raynard van Tonder (49). He also joined forces with Phillip Visser (53*) for an unbeaten partnership of 131 runs over the fourth wicket.
Benjamin Henderson helped Boland to 321/5 with his unbeaten century in their first innings against Limpopo. The latter replied with 214/8 to force a draw.

Jean du Plessis scored his century in his team’s victory after the first innings against Northern Cape.

Summarised Scorecards (Time Cricket):

Western Province first innings 231/5 decl. (Gavin Kaplan 52, Jesse Christensen 47, Mujaahid Toffar 44; Mekyle Pillay 2/29); Easterns first innings 248/7 decl. (Louis Geldenhuys 104; Grant Martin 2/17, Michael Cohen 2/33). Easterns won on first innings.

Eastern Province first innings 226 (David Masterson 57, Chris Benjamin 54; Katlego Thena 5/29); Gauteng first innings 154 (Mitchell van Buuren 62; Jade de Klerk 4/62). Eastern Province won on first innings.

KwaZulu-Natal first innings 240/8 decl. (Bradley Porteous 48, James Stamatis 48; Nkosinathi Msiza 3/54, Ruan de Swardt 3/70); Northerns first innings 264/6 decl. (Donovan Ferreira 95, Ivan Kriek 44, Joshua van Heerden 37;
Zakariya Paruk 4/42). Northerns won on first innings.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland first innings 202/6 decl. (Gavin Morris 60, Sean Gilson 50*, Matthew Armstrong 37); Free State first innings 254/3 decl. (Christopher Schreuder 126*, Phillip Visser 53*, Raynard van Tonder 49); KwaZulu-Natal Inland second innings 29/1 (Gerald Coetzee 1/10). Free State won on first innings.

Boland first innings 321/5 decl. (Benjamin Henderson 120*, Paul Barnard 55, Tiaan du Plessis 52); Limpopo first innings 214/8 (Timothy Elphinstone 66, Ruvan Kruger 53; Tiaan du Plessis 4/51). Match drawn.

Mpumalanga first innings 234/8 decl. (Bernard Vorster 81, Conner Fletcher 79; Akhona Mnyaka 3/57); Border first innings 195/4 (Josneil Long 77*, Sinethemba Qeshile 52; Grant Truter 2/16). Match drawn.

South Western Districts first innings 263/4 decl. (Jean du Plessis 104*, Todd Walker 70, Samnkelo Mvimbi 33); Northern Cape first innings 139/6 (Joshua Kleu 2/13, Grant Esau 2/23). Match drawn.

Namibia first innings 147 (Jurgen Linde 26; Mpho Selaolane 4/36, Cobus Crowther 3/31); North West first innings 174/9 decl. (Ruan van Abo 45; Albert van der Merwe 3/25, Ben Shikongo 3/41); Namibia first innings 9/0. North West won on first innings.


Leave a Reply