SuperSportSchools Cricket

Ebrahim scores only century of third day of CSA u17 Week

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 13 December 2014

The captain of Western Province, Aaqil Ebrahim, continued his superb form with the bat in hand on the third day of Cricket South Africa’s National u17-week in Johannesburg. Ebrahim (110) recorded the only century of the third day of which the games was played in the 50 overs format. 

This helped Western Province to defeat Northerns by 83 runs. The opening bowling partnership of Ryan Klein (2/25) and Ziyaad Abrahams (4/15) also played a major part in the victory. 

The opening partnership of 189 runs between Liam Smith (79) and Ricardo Vasconcelos (80) helped Gauteng to a 119-run victory over Zimbabwe. Vasconcelos struck six fours and a solitary six in his innings. 

KwaZulu-Natal’s Tyron Koen (4/39) rearranged Benjamin Henderson’s (44) stumps in the penultimate over of the match to secure his side a narrow 4-run victory over Boland. Koen (36) also produced his side’s best batting performance in the match. 

Eastern Province’s Liam Lindsey (93) and Keenan Veira (85) laid the foundation with their 122-run third wicket partnership against KwaZulu-Natal Inland for their side’s victory of 93 runs. Lindsey just missed out on his century when fast bowler, Randell Ramnarain, rearranged his stumps. He struck seven fours and one six in his innings. 


Western Province 217/9 (Aaqil Ebrahim 110, Jesse Christensen 31; Msiza Nkosinathi 2/21, Yonick Mack 2/25); Northerns 134 (Rubin Herman 34, Beyers Swanepoel 25; Ziyaad Abrahams 4/15, Ryan Klein 2/25). Western Province won by 83 runs. 

Gauteng 255/6 (Ricardo Vasconcelos 80, Liam Smith 79; Ryan Murray 2/45); Zimbabwe 136 (Nick Welch 33; Stephen Kettley 3/27, Ketlego Thena 2/20, Josh Coetzee 2/22). Gauteng won by 119 runs. 

KwaZulu-Natal 194 (Tyron Koen 36, Zakiriya Paruk 33; Benjamin Henderson 2/22, Fenito Mehl 2/23, Pieter Swart 2/23); Boland 190/9 (Benjamin Henderson 44, Paul Venter 34; Tyron Koen 4/39). KwaZulu-Natal won by four runs. 

Border 232 (Athenkosi Mfazwe 82, Morgan MacLean 51; Edward Davids 3/45, Neil Durow 2/25); Free State 233/6 (Kevin Pretorius 55*, Janco Nel 42, Raynard van Tonder 41; Axola Ngwana 2/25). Free State won by four wickets.

Eastern Province 311/8 (Liam Lindsey 93, Keenan Veira 85, Jimmy Sholto-Douglas 65; Julian Yeates 3/31); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 218 (Angus Curtis 37, Sbonginhlanhla Makhaye 36; Jarryd Lookwhy 4/47). Eastern Province won by 93 runs. 

South Western Districts 101 (Regardt Heiberg 37; Todd Walker 4/15); Limpopo 102/6 (JP Duvenhage 36; Sahil Patel 2/9). Limpopo won by four wickets. 

North West 117 (Willem Blom 35; Reboane Prophy 3/16, Gladwin Nieuwenhuizen 3/36); Griqualand West 121/5 (Wiaan van Niekerk 37, Leon Lubbe 32; SW Rossouw 3/21). Griqualand West won by five wickets. 

Easterns 137 (Michael Weldon 36, Altus Pretorius 32; Grant Truter 4/12, Siyabonga Mtsweni 2/15); Mpumalanga 138/5 (Sinegugu Maseko 59; Franco Marais 2/25). Mpumalanga won by five wickets. 


Leave a Reply