SuperSportSchools Cricket

Free State and Northerns only unbeaten sides left in Bloem

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 20 December 2016

Only the hosts, Free State, and Northerns will go into the fourth day of the annual Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week in Bloemfontein with their unbeaten status intact.

Free State, Northerns, Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal Inland were the only sides who managed to win both of their T20-matches on the third day of the tournament.

The national under-19 captain of Gauteng, Wiaan Mulder, recorded only the second century in the T20-format in the history of the tournament. Mulder scored an unbeaten 104 off just 44 deliveries against South Western Districts in his side’s first match of the day.

Gauteng scored a massive 288/3 in their allotted overs after Muhammed Mayet (45) and Josh Richards (25) laid the foundation with their opening partnership of 78 runs off just 28 deliveries.

Mulder shared an unbroken partnership with Mitchell van Buuren (70 *) over the fourth wicket.

Although Northern Cape lost their match against Free State, no one had a better day on the day than their seamer Chadwin November. He showed in both his side’s matches that he has nerves of steel and was also awarded the award as Coca-Cola Hero of the Day for his efforts.

He picked up a hat-trick a he removed Dilivio Ridgaard (24), Raynard van Tonder (0) and Christopher Schreuder (40). He trapped Ridgaard and SA Schools player Van Tonder leg before with his final two deliveries of his first over. With the first delivery of his next over he rearranged Schreuder’s stumps.

Schreuder has been the outstanding batsman for Free State at the tournament scoring 235 runs in their four matches thus far. Only Matthew Breetzke (240) of Eastern Province and Van Buuren (238) has scored more at this year’s tournament.

November also secured his side a victory in the morning session against Easterns. After both teams faced their allotted over there was nothing to choose between them.

Up stepped November to bowl the one-over eliminater in which he conceded a mere four runs while also picking up two wickets.

Northerns’ SA Schools rugby player, Ruan de Swardt, gave his bid to become the first sportsman since Adrian Penzhorn in 2001 to achieve national schools’ colours in rugby and cricket a boost.

De Swardt was the only player to pick up five wickets on the third day. He grabbed five wickets for 15 runs against Limpopo. He also added an unbeaten 30 runs with the bat in the match.

In the morning session het got rid of four Namibian batsmen for only 15 runs and also scored an unbeaten 36 runs

Summarised Scorecards (T20):

Round 1

Gauteng 275/3 (Wiaan Mulder 104*, Mitchell van Buuren 70*, Muhammed Mayet 45); South Western Districts 171/8 (Levin Muller 43, Jean du Plessis 43; Muhammed Mayet 2/20, Kgaudisa Molefe 2/22). Gauteng won by 117 runs.

Northerns 203/6 (Donovan Ferreira 37, Ivan Kriek 46, Ruan de Swardt 36*); Namibia 171 (Lohan Louwrens 58; Ruan de Swardt 4/15, Nkosinathi Msiza 2/24). Northerns won by 32 runs.

Boland 136/7 (Bernu Engelbrecht 42, Paul Bernard 35; Michael Cohen 2/17); Western Province 128/9 (Jesse Christensen 39; Tiaan du Plessis 3/17). Boland won by eight runs.

Border 122/5 (Jason Raubenheimer 38*, Sinethemba Qeshile 37*; Thabiso Lekhoana 3/27, Pheku Moletsane 2/20); Free State 124/1 (Christopher Schreuder 53, Dilivio Ridgaard 43*). Free State won by nine wickets.

Mpumalanga 167/3 (Conner Fletcher 66, Grant Truter 33); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 168/1 (Gavin Morris 70*, Jiveshan Pillay 55*). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won by nine wickets.

Limpopo 109 (Tumisang Letsoalo 16; Staunton Goliath 3/15, Lutho Sipamla 2/28); Eastern Province 108/3 (Matthew Breetzke 63; Morné Venter 2/18). Eastern Province won by seven wickets.

Northern Cape 144/5 (Simon Muller 47*, Nakkie Duvenhage 47; Jacques Nel 3/24, Devon Botha 2/17); Easterns 144/9 (Brandon Harwood 53*, Jacques Nel 32; Chadwin November 2/22). Match tied – Northern Cape won the one-over eliminator.

KwaZulu-Natal 207/4 (Waseem Rahman 63, Jordan Grobbelaar 61*; Cobus Crowther 2/18); North West 177/7 (Ruan van Abo 78, Mohamed Suliman 32; Matthew Montgomery 3/35). KwaZulu-Natal won by 30 runs.

Round 2

Eastern Province 157/7 (Matthew Breetzke 69, Jonathan Crankshaw 41); Namibia 158/3 (Niko Davin 59, Jurgen Linde 51*). Namibia won by seven wickets.

Boland 113/7 (Benjamin Henderson 28*; Matthew Lees 3/16); KwaZulu-Natal 114/5 (Andile Mokgakane 38, Jordan Grobbelaar 31*; Tiaan du Plessis 2/19, Sinalo Gobeni 2/19). KwaZulu-Natal won by five wickets.

Northern Cape 103/9 (Gladwin Nieuwenhuizen 49; Phillip Visser 3/13, NJ Stannard 3/20); Free State 106/4 (Christopher Schreuder 40; Chadwin November 3/17). Free State won by six wickets.

Mpumalanga 124 (Bonginkosi Langa 43; Mitchell van Buuren 2/12, Josh Coetzee 2/17, Wiaan Mulder 2/23); Gauteng 125/2 (Muhammed Mayet 50, Josh Richards 33*). Gauteng won by eight wickets.

Western Province 167/4 (Jesse Christensen 75, Phindile Tsolekile 32; Reabetswe Mokgoro 3/24); North West 140/5 (Jan-Harm Moolman 33; Matthew Valentine 3/21). Western Province won by 27 runs.

South Western Districts 136/9 (Richard Papenfus 53, Ruan Moolman 32; Eathan Bosch 3/24, Kamogelo Selane 2/14); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 138/4 (Jiveshan Pillay 69*; Richard Papenfus 2/12, Levin Muller 2/23). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won by six wickets.

Border 120/9 (Jason Raubenheimer 23, Sinethemba Qeshile 23, Sihle Maxhawulana 23; Nyiko Baloyi 2/21); Easterns 121/6 (Jarred Alder 63; Luke Dallas 3/9, Siphamandla Krweqe 2/12). Easterns won by four wickets.

Limpopo 109/9 (Timothy Elphinstone 34; Ruan de Swardt 5/15); Northerns 110/5 (Beyers Swanepoel 38, Ruan de Swardt 30*; Craig Corné 2/19). Northerns won by five wickets.


Leave a Reply