SuperSportSchools Cricket

Gauteng and WP continue their dominance at Khaya Majola Week

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 19 December 2018

NewsGBryceParsonsHosts, Western Province, will take on Gauteng in the main match of the 2018-edition of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week at Newlands in Cape Town on Thursday.

It will be the sixth time that these two teams will face each other in the main match of this prestigious tournament in the last ten years. Gauteng has beaten Western Province three times in the five previous meetings, while Western Province came out on top twice.

Even more remarkable is the fact that in the last ten years it was only once in 2016 when Northerns en Free State met in the main match in Bloemfontein that neither Gauteng or Western Province featured in the main game.

Gauteng’s Bryce Parsons (129*) continued his excellent form this season with the bat as he scored the only century of the day in his side’s convincing victory over Northerns. Parsons also moved into the top position on the run-scorers table with 253 runs thus far at the tournament.

Gauteng’s left-arm orthodox spinner Kgaudise Molefe is the top wicket-taker at the week with 17 wickets at an average of 8.3 runs per victim.

Western Province is the only unbeaten side left in the tournament after ending Boland’s runs by 46 runs. Boland’s national under 19 seamer, Achille Cloete (5/34), had WP stumbling at 27/5 thanks to his opening spell in which he got rid of four batsmen at the cost of only 11 runs.

Justin Gilliland (54) and Guy Sheena (61) pulled it back for WP with their half-centuries and helped their team to a more respectable total of 213.

Free State’s national u19-player, Gerald Coetzee, was on fire as he featured with both bat and ball as his team demolished South Western Districts by 190 runs. Coetzee (56*), his captain Garnett Tarr (61) and Calvin Flanegan (54) all weighed in with half-centuries as Free State scored 250/9 in their allotted 50 overs.

Coetzee (2/21) then also helped to bundle SWD out for only 60 runs. Ruan Cronjé (3/21) and Tshediso Kheswa (2/2) caused the most damage to SWD’s batting line-up.

Eastern Province’s captain, Tristan Stubbs (67*), also continued his good form with the bat as he scored his second half-century of the tournament as his side defeated Easterns by four wickets. Stubbs scored 241 runs thus far in two innings less than Parsons. The latter however face 193 deliveries less than Stubbs.

KwaZulu-Natal’s medium pacer Steven Naidoo joined an elite group of bowlers by bagging a hat-trick in his side’s 73-run victory over Namibia. His hat-trick came in the 16th over as he firstly trapped Erich von Mollendorf (10) before rearranging Ramon Wilmot (0) stumps with the very next delivery. He completed his hat-trick by also trapping Jan-Izak de Villiers (0) in front.

Naidoo finished the match with bowling figures of 4/13 as Namibia was bundled out for a mere 122. He received some valuable assistance from Matthew Montgomery (3/7) with the ball in hand. Naidoo also struck an unbeaten 66 runs which helped him walk away with the Coca-Cola Hero of the Day award.

Border’s Nonelela Yikha (6/22) produced the best bowling performance of the fourth day as his side restricted Limpopo to a mere 86 runs. Luke Dallas (3/17) also troubled the batsmen from Limpopo.

Fixtures for Day of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week:

Western Province vs Gauteng (Newlands)
Free State vs Eastern Province (Rondebosch Boys’ High)
Boland vs Northerns (Bishops A)
KwaZulu-Natal vs KZN Inland (Wynberg Boys’ High)
SWD vs Easterns (Vineyard)
North West vs Mpumalanga (Victoria)
Namibia vs Border (Langa)
Limpopo vs Northern Cape (Cape Town CC)

The two matches at Newlands and Rondebosch Boys’ High will be live streamed on Use the following unique voucher code to get a month free access to the website – 25ZPI2T2XZ.

Summarised Scorecards (Limited Overs):

Western Province 213 (Guy Sheena 61, Justin Gilliland 54, Aaron Smit 49; Achille Cloete 5/34); Boland 167 (Akeem Minnaar 45, Johannes Lambrechts 43; Jason Alexander 3/32, Jordan Woolf 2/22). Western Province won by 46 runs.

Gauteng 258/3 (Bryce Parsons 129*, Jacob Miltz 60, Linda Ndlovu 33; Ethan Wentzel 2/70); Northerns 177 (Sibusiso Maseko 24*; Tumelo Yeki 3/28, Kgaudise Molefe 2/19). Gauteng won by 81 runs.

Free State 250/9 (Garnett Tarr 61, Gerald Coetzee 56*, Calvin Flanegan 54, CP Klijhans 39; Mesuli Vuba 3/35, Brian Jack 2/31); South Western Districts 60 (Odin le Roux 25; Ruan Cronjé 3/21, Tshediso Kheswa 2/2, Gerald Coetzee 2/21). Free State won by 190 runs.

Easterns 191 (Arnie Enslin 62, Neo Felane 30, Saahil Khan 28; Mark Amm 2/23); Eastern Province 192/6 (Tristan Stubbs 67*, Luke Beaufort 36; Sinenhlanhla Zwane 3/38). Eastern Province won by four wickets.

KwaZulu-Natal 195/5 (Steven Naidoo 66*, Thamsanqa Khumalo 52, Prealin Naidu 29; Akhulile Makatu 4/29, Slindile Radebe 2/16); Namibia 122 (Shaun Fouché 23; Steven Naidoo 4/13, Matthew Montgomery 3/7). KwaZulu-Natal won by 73 runs.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 231 (Gareth Schreuder 60, Fraser Jones 50*, Robert McGaw 35; Akhulile Makatu 4/29, Slindile Radebe 2/16); Mpumalanga 225 (Graeme Bouwer 41, Jacques Vosloo 33, Wali Vayani 25; Fraser Jones 2/21, Wezo Gqiba 2/37). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won by six runs.

Northern Cape 104 (Conor McNamara 33*; Karabelo Matlawe 3/21, Jim Keagile 3/34); North West 105/5 (Marco Jansen 39*; Khutlwano Mokwena 2/20, Resegofaditswe Mothibi 2/24). North West won by five wickets.

Limpopo 86 (Nhlamulo Mboweni 22; Nonelela Yikha 6/22, Luke Dallas 3/17); Border 88/5 (Emihle Mqogi 38*; Sello Malatji 2/13). Border won by five wickets.


Leave a Reply