SuperSportSchools Cricket

Gauteng win third, consecutive Coke Week “final”

By Hannes Nienaber , in News , at 21 December 2015

Gauteng secured a six-wicket victory over Western Province (WP) to win their third, successive final against the side in the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week in Port Elizabeth on Sunday. Gauteng remain unbeaten in the tournament since 2013.

Gauteng skipper, Tony de Zorzi won the toss and elected to field, restricting WP to 162 runs in a match which was reduced to 44 overs a side due to a light shower in the morning. Wiaan Mulder was once again the pick of the bowlers, taking four wickets for just 24 runs, including WP’s leading run scorers of the day, Aaqil Ebrahim (33) and Gavin Kaplan (31).

In reply, de Zorzi (54) and Farhaan Sayanvala (37) weighed in with the bat for Gauteng to get them over the target.

Northerns’ Dean Foxcroft continued his great form with the ball in hand, bagging his second five-wicket haul against KwaZulu-Natal. His 5/11 helped confine them to 86 runs.

Foxcroft went on to score an unbeaten 36 runs to steer his side home with eight wickets in the bank. He finished the tournament as the top bowler with 18 wickets at an average of 6.94.

North West’s Ruan Haasbroek finished as the top run scorer after hitting an unbeaten 96 runs in his side’s match against Limpopo. He amassed 250 runs at an average of 62.50. His top knock was a century (101*) against Border earlier in the tournament.

Easterns’ Michael Weldon (104*) ended the tournament on a high, scoring a century in his side’s five-wicket victory over Border.

Summarised Scorecards: 

Western Province 162 (Aaqil Ebrahim 33, Gavin Kaplan 31; Wiaan Mulder 4/24, Ntokozo Mahlaba 3/45); Gauteng 166/4 (Tony de Zorzi 54, Farhaan Sayanvala 37, Ricardo Vasconcelos 32; Junaid Dawood 2/20). Gauteng won by six wickets.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 86 (Bryce Tullis 26; Dean Foxcroft 5/11, William Ledwaba 3/13);Northerns 89/2 (Dean Foxcroft 36*; Jean de Wet 1/4). Northerns won by eight wickets.

Eastern Province 98 (Liam Lindsey 40; Okuhle Cele 4/12); KwaZulu-Natal 99/5 (James Tedder 40*; Jade de Klerk 2/14). KwaZulu-Natal won by five wickets.

Free State 185/7 (Raynard van Tonder 56, Niel Durow 44; William Sendin 2/23); Boland 98 (Slabber la Grange 20; Sean Whitehead 3/6, Thando Lebuso 3/23); Free State won 87 runs.

South Western Districts 199/6 (Jean du Plessis 68, Bailey Aarons 32*, Levin Muller 32; Francois Kroukamp 2/21); Mpumalanga 104 (Jacques Fourie 41; Dillan Nuys 2/11, Athenkosi Mapono 2/19, Bailey Aarons 2/19). South Western Districts won by 95 runs.

Border 183/5 (Nathan Roux 49, Athenkosi Mfazwe 45, Bamanye Xengxe 37); Easterns 187/5 (Michael Weldon 104*). Easterns won by five wickets.

North West 213/6 (Ruan Haasbroek 96*, Vian Maritz 36, Modise Matlhaku 32; Brendan Bezuidenhout 2/31); Limpopo 167/9 (Morné Venter 40, Sahil Patel 33*; Lesego Senokwane 3/30). North West won by 46 runs.

Northern Cape 132 (Divan Nieuwenhuizen 54*; Fritz Coetzee 4/26, Charl Brits 3/10); Namibia 95 (Gladwin Nieuwenhuizen 3/19, Marko de Kock 2/4, Hannes Jacobs 2/11). Northern Cape won by 37 runs.


Leave a Reply