SuperSportSchools Cricket

Helpies unbeaten after Day 1 of Saints T20 Cricket Festival

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 15 January 2023

Helpmekaar-kollege bagged two victories during the opening day of the St John’s College T20 Cricket Festival in Johannesburg.

Helpies faced Queen’s High and St Benedict’s College in their two matches on Day 1 of the festival which forms part of Saints 125th anniversary celebrations.

All of the matches are live-streamed by SuperSportSchools – and also available on Video-on-Demand.

The best individual performance on the Rice Field however belonged to Siyabonga Radebe (105*) from Queen’s High. Radebe faced a mere 58 deliveries as he took St Benedict’s College of Bedfordview’s bowling attack apart.

He struck nine fours and five sixes in his innings as his side managed to secure a two-run victory.

Helpies’  Kyle Swanepoel (66) and Henricus Meyer (59) recorded half-centuries in their side’s 84-run victory over St Benedict’s College.

Meyer once again weighed in with an unbeaten 46 runs in his side’s victory over Queen’s High. Tjaart Mentz top-scoring this time with 63 runs.

Queen’s High’s Mpho Nzala also enjoyed a good day at the office as he boasted bowling figures of 2/37 against St Bennies and 1/38 against Helpies.

Summarised Scorecards: 

Queen’s High 195/3 (Siyabonga Radebe 105*, Mzwakhe Mkhwanazi 26, Mpho Nzala 25, Kabelo Rapodile 24; Tristan Eley 1/8); St Benedict’s College 193/7 (Nathan Rothman 45, Declan le Roux 43, Brandon Blake 34, Jason Pengelley 23; Mpho Nzala 2/37). Queen’s High won by two runs.

Helpmekaar 203/4 (Kyle Swanepoel 66, Henricus Meyer 59, Juan Minnaar 38*; Niel Adlam 2/30); St Benedict’s College 119 (Quaid Pillay 33; Reuben Jordaan 2/12, Juan Storm 2/18, Michael Benzien 2/22, Marco Prinsloo 2/33). Helpmekaar won by 84 runs.

Queen’s High 135/8 (Thami Radebe 47*, Tsepiso Senosi 26, Mpho Nzala 22; Juan Minnaar 2/16, Dihan Janse van Rensburg 2/26); Helpmekaar 138/2 (Tjaart Mentz 63, Henricus Meyer 46*; Mpho Nzala 1/38). Helpmekaar won by eight wickets.


Leave a Reply