SuperSportSchools Cricket

Kaplan powers WP to unofficial title

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 15 December 2014

JOHANNESBURG. – The 16 year old, Gavin Kaplan (138*) kept the best innings of Cricket South Africa’s National u17-week for the last day to steer his side to a five wicket victory over Gauteng in the main match of the tournament at the Wanderers. 

Kaplan first shared a 109-run partnership with Tyla Scarles (29) over the third wickets, before being joined by his captain, Aaqil Ebrahim (52) at the crease. They shared a 98-run partnership over the fourth wicket. Ebrahim finished the tournament as the top batsman scoring 258 runs in his side’s five matches at the tournament.  

Kaplan scored the winning runs when he struck the third delivery of the final over from Lorenzo Masselli for the 12th four of his innings. He also hit a six in his run-a-ball innnings. Western Province needed just more than eight to the over with the final ten overs remaining. 

Gauteng posted a competitive 262 thanks to half-centuries by Ricardo Vasconcelos (70), Masselli (68) and Shane Dadswell (57). The pick of Western Province’s bowlers was Ziyaad Abrahams (3/33). He also finished the tournament as the leading wicket-taker. He dismissed 15 batsman at an unbelievable average of 6.86 runs per victim. 

Abrahams opening bowler partner, Ryan Klein, took the second most wickets during the tournament. He got rid of 12 batsman at a mere 11.16 runs per victim. 

Besides Western Province Mpumalanga also managed to conclude the tournament unbeaten. They recorded a rather convincing 150run victory over Eastern Province in their final match today. Gauteng defeated Eastern Province by eigth wickets in their match on Sunday. 

A national u17-side will be announced at the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Awards Function which will be held on the evening of 21 December in Pretoria. This national side will attend Cricket South Africa’s Cubs Week which will take place from 4 to 10 January 2015 in Stellenbosch. 


Gauteng 262 (Ricardo Vasconcelos 70, Lorenzo Masselli 68, Shane Dadswell 57; Ziyaad Abrahams 3/33); Western Province 264/5 (Gavin Kaplan 138*, Aaqil Ebrahim 52). Western Province won by five wickets. 

Free State 113 (Wihan Victor 22, Neil Durow 21; Yetish Ramsurrup 3/9, Zakariya Paruk 3/23); KwaZulu-Natal 114/1 (James Tedder 47*, Rahman Waseem 36). KwaZulu-Natal won by nine wickets. 

Mpumalanga 238/9 (Bernard Vorster 49, Schalk Sutherland 35; Jarryd Lookwhy 3/35); Eastern Province 88 (Liam Lindsey 31; Branden Brodell 3/14). Mpumalanga won by 150 runs.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 160/9 (Bryce Tullis 54, Eathan Bosch 40*; Jacques de Graaff 3/16); Northerns 161/3 (Joshua van Heerden 66*, Rubin Hermann 63*; Jean de Wet 2/12). Northerns won by seven wickets. 

South Western Districts 189/9 (Jean du Plessis 51, Richard Papenfus 43; Franco Marais 3/28); Easterns 142 (Franco Marais 37*; Nevada Jacobs 3/25). South Western Districts won by 47 runs. 

Border 114 (Sihle Maxhawulana 26; Byron Fortuin 4/21, Pieter Swart 3/23); Boland 115/1 (William Sending 55*, Paul Venter 26). Boland won by nine wickets.

North West 117 (Ruan Minnaar 27; Blessing Mavuta 3/16); Zimbabwe 121/3 (Ryan Murray 47*, Adam Keefe 35). Zimbabwe won by seven wickets. 

Griqualand West 93 (Hannes Jacobs 35; Brendan Bezuidenhout 5/11, Morné Venter 3/12); Limpopo 96/7 (Rassie Pretorius 28; Gladwen Nieuwenhuizen 3/33). Limpopo won by three wickets.


Leave a Reply