SuperSportSchools Cricket

Klopper and Rohlandt spin to top of first day of Khaya Majola Week

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 17 December 2014

PRETORIA. – The first day of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week belonged to the off-spinners with Stefan Klopper (Northerns) and Matthew Rohlandt (Griqualand West), both picking up five-wicket hauls in overcast conditions which usually give more assistance to the seam bowlers.

The South African u19-player, Klopper, produced the best bowling figures of the opening day aas he dismissed seven of KwaZulu-Natal’s batsman for 35 runs in his 13.4 overs. The match finished in a draw after Northerns could only manage 84/6 in answer to KwaZulu-Natal’s 171 runs.

Rohlandt, who finished last year’s Cricket South Africa (CSA) National u17 Week as the top bowler, was his side’s only ray of light in a losing battle against Namibia. He picked up five wickets for 49 runs. He grabbed 22 wickets during last year’s National u17 Week.

His performance against Namibia could however not prevent his side from suffering the only outright defeat of the first day. Griqualand West was restricted to a mere 57 runs in their first innings. Their two most experienced players, captain Wazeed Alexander and Rikus Zwart, was back in the change room without a run on the scoreboard for the team. Alexander added a valuable 33 runs in his side’s second innings.

Boland’s Isma-eel Gafieldien (31) showed some unbelievable courage as he opened the batting against Gauteng after having to leave the field to get stitches after a fielding accident. Gafieldien dropped a catch on the boundary in Gauteng’s innings with the wet ball hitting him above his ear. He was out of action for about an hour lying on his back after getting stitched up. He faced arguably the fastest bowler on display at the tournament, the national u19 pace mercent, Brandon Glover.

Another two national u19 players from Gauteng, Grant Roelofsen (55) and Ryan Rickelton (50), shared an opening partnership of 95 runs. Rickelton’s faced 159 deliveries for his half-century before he became Reinhardt Fortuin’s (4/45) first victim when he got dismissed in the 50th over of the match.

Western Province’s wicketkeeper, Kyle Verrynne (100*), recorded the only century of the opening day in his side’s match against Free State. He struck 17 boundaries in his innings of which one was a maximum. His captain, Matthew Christensen (78) and Christopher Graham (40) laid a solid foundation with their opening stand of 108 runs.
Free State’s opening batsman, Koot Pienaar’s (64), half-century played a major role to help his side secure a draw against Western Province. Eastern Province and North West also managed to secure victories on the first against KwaZulu-Natal Inland and Easterns respectively.

Summarised Scorecards (Time Cricket):

Gauteng first innings 224 (Grant Roelofsen 55, Ryan Rickelton 50; Reinhardt Fortuin 4/45); Boland first innings 136/3 (Elliot Moses 37, Isma-eel Gafieldien 31). Match drawn.

KwaZulu-Natal first innings 171 (Jerome Bossr 44, Tafara Mupariwa 43; Stefan Klopper 7/35); Northerns first innings 84/6 (Dean Foxcroft 24, Kabelo Raseleka 23; Jesse Smit 2/10). Match drawn.

Western Province first innings 284/6 decl. (Kyle Verreynne 100*, Matthew Christensen 78, Christopher Graham 40; Marno van Greuning 4/83); Free State first innings 135/4 (Koot Pienaar 64; Yolisa Mona 2/12). Match Drawn.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland first innings 254 (Stephen Reeves 80*, Sohail Mahmoud 53; Stephan Tait 4/48. Tshepiso Ndwandwa 3/53); Eastern Province first innings 121/7 (Brad Haller 52; Lungi Ngidi 2/17). Match drawn.

Easterns first innings 158 (CJ van der Walt 58; Katlego Leokaoke 2/14, Jerome Xaba 2/24); North West first innings 169/7 (Louren Steenkamp 55, Tommie le Roux 36; Xolani Tshabalala 3/24). North West won on first innings.

Namibia first innings 177 (Michau du Preez 67, Zane Green 39; Matthew Rohlandt 5/49, JD van Zyl 2/12); Griqualand West first innings 57 (Reuben Visagie 21; Tiaan Snyman 3/7, JJ Smit 3/16, Danie van Schoor 2/2); Namibia second innings 46/2 decl. (Zane Green 30*; André Share 1/14); Griqualand West second innings 81/5 (Wazeed Alexander 33; Francois Rautenbach 2/7). Namibia won outright by 85 runs.

South Western Districts first innings 185/6 decl. (Jean Heunis 50, Arno Bouwer 43); Border first innings 153/5 (Tim Niemand 57*, Abongile Ntondini 43*; Mihlali Gcanga 2/23). Match drawn.

Limpopo first innings 205/9 decl. (Johan Louw 53, Lourens Potgieter 44; Matthew Nepgen 3/44, Ashley Methula 2/18); Mpumalanga first innings 186/8 (Benjamin van Niekerk 79; JP Prinsloo 3/27). Match drawn.


Leave a Reply