SuperSportSchools Cricket

Not a lot to choose between the top four teams at the Khaya Majola Week

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 22 December 2021 Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

TL 1809669After the first four days of the annual Khaya Majola Week in Potchefstroom there is not much difference between the top four teams at the tournament.

Gauteng, the Titans, Western Province, and KwaZulu-Natal are without a doubt the outstanding teams at this year’s tournament. Gauteng and the Titans will face each other on Wednesday in an exhibition match over 50 overs on the JB Marks Oval.

Both sides suffered their first defeats of the week on the penultimate day. Gauteng lost by a solitary wicket against Western Province in a closely contested clash. In the end, it was the batting heroics of Abdullah Bayoumy (57*) that got Western Province past the target with only one delivery to spare.

Juan James (61) and Tyler Williams (25) also played major roles in the victory with the bat. Kyle Glennistor (4/33) was once again the pick of Gauteng’s bowling attack.

For Gauteng Khaya Fakude (58), Ronan Hermann (49), and Richard Seletswane (45) all weighed in with valuable contributions with the bat in hand.

The Titans suffered their first defeat against KwaZulu-Natal Inland, while the latter kept their unbeaten record intact. The only side to do so during the first four days of the tournament.

The Titans were restricted to 171 with Alexander Vermeulen (4/25) and Thabiso Ndlela (4/30) causing most of the damage. In the end it was the tailenders Kris Watt (48*) and Alexander Vermeulen (25*) who saw Inland home with three wickets to spare.

KZN Inland will attempt to finish the tournament unbeaten in their final match against Western Province on Wednesday.

The exhibition match on the JB Marks Oval will be a 50 overs encounter while the rest of the matches of the final day will be Twenty/20 clashes.

The Free State’s captain, Joe Meyer (114), steered his side to a 102-run victory over Limpopo. This was Limpopo’s first defeat of the tournament. Meyer received some valuable support from Alec McIntyre (58) and Marco Fouché (37).

The CSA Invitation XI’s Nicklis van Onselen (65*) was in a devastating mood. He only faced 42 deliveries as he helped his side to secure a convincing victory over Eastern Province in the 15th over.

KwaZulu-Natal’s Chad Laycock (133*) recorded an impressive century against the hosts, North West. He faced 133 deliveries of which he dispatched 18 past the boundary rope. Two of these boundaries were maximums.

Laycock and Nathan Trevethan (58) shared a 173-run partnership over the third wicket.

Northern Cape’s spin bowler Jody Barend (5/33) produced the best bowling performance of the day against Mpumalanga. It was over still not enough to prevent his side from suffering a 71-run defeat.


Summarised Scorecards (Limited Overs):

Gauteng 230/9 (Khaya Fakude 58, Ronan Hermann 49, Richard Seletswane 45, Billy van Zyl 27, Zack Momberg 22; Liyema Waqu 2/48, Tyler Williams 2/53); Western Province 233/9 (Juan James 61, Abdullah Bayoumy 57*, Tyler Williams 25; Kyle Glennistor 4/33, Greg Ford 2/36). Western Province won by one wicket.

Titans 171 (Divan Engelbrecht 44, Jaco Beneke 32, Kagiso Ngwenya 22; Alexander Vermeulen 4/25, Thabiso Ndlela 4/30); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 172/7 (Kris Watt 48*, Alexander Vermeulen 25*; Edumisa Delemnyanga 3/47). KZN Inland won by three wickets.

North West 229/9 (Tshiteletso Tikoe 57, Johan Mahne 40, Rico Fryer 39, Tebogo Mathe 36; Bonga Shezi 3/50, Ronan Vardaya 2/21, Zedan Mohamed 2/36); KwaZulu-Natal 232/3 (Chad Laycock 133*, Nathan Trevethan 58; MJ Mostert 2/29). KwaZulu-Natal won by seven wickets.

Boland 210/8 (Paul Senekal 64, John Vermaak 58, Extras 24; Amaan Khan 3/16, Damien Smith 2/29, Blaine Peterson 2/38); Easterns 181 (Christiaan Conradie 39, Jayden Mostert 29, Amaan Khan 26; Sanele Qubuda 4/45, Nathan Jacobs 3/18). Boland won by 29 runs.

Free State 274 (Joe Meyer 114, Alec McIntyre 58, Marco Fouché 37, Matthew Davids 21; Thabiso Mohlasedi 3/74, Nicholas Adendorff 3/75); Limpopo 172 (Kamogelo Madibana 36, Muhammed Sagir 29, Nicholas Adendorff 23, Extras 24; Foster Lubbe 3/22, Matthew Davids 2/20, Stefan Nel 2/26). Free State won by 102 runs.

Eastern Province 103 (Ziphosihle Ruiters 26; Samuel Bobraine 4/14, Dean Bacher 3/9); CSA Invitation XI 105/1 (Nicklis van Onselen 65, Ulli Bronkhorst 24*). CSA Invitation XI won by nine wickets.

Mpumalanga 192 (Jayden Scholtz 40, Stefan Leemans 31, Lukas van der Walt 27, Joshua Greeff 23; Jody Barend 5/33, Karabo Masiu 3/28); Northern Cape 121 (Naziel Adams 32, Extras 25; Desmond Visser 3/21, Suhail Patel 2/20). Mpumalanga won by 71 runs.

South Western Districts 169 (Extras 33, Thabo Dywili 24, Liyabona Malifi 21; Lisakhanya Lwana 4/40, Thozama Totana 2/26); Border 146 (Bradley de Kock 51*, Bune Hlonela 21; Basil George 3/13, Francois Ackermann 2/16). South Western Districts won by 23 runs

[powr-comments id=”d43a1876_1640145831231″]


Leave a Reply