SuperSportSchools Cricket

Punt end their festival on a high against Worcester Gim in Mossel Bay

By Willem Louw , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 4 October 2023

The Hoërskool Punt cricket team finished off their annual tournament on a high on Tuesday, beating the visiting Worcester Gimnasium in a T20 by six wickets.

The visitors had presented themselves well at the festival, with wins over Tygerberg and Curro Mossel Bay on their first two outings.

Christopher Ley set the pace, scoring 47 runs for Worcester, but the hosts’ bowling attack prevented them from building any real momentum.

Heinrich Gericke, Ian van der Westhuysen and MC Barnard took two wickets each and contained their opponents well to keep them at 101.

Ricus van Rooyen then launched an all-out attack, scoring 44 to help Punt chase down the total for a well-deserved win to cap off their festival.

Ley was one of the standouts for the Gimmies at the tournament, apart from his batting display, he also took five wickets against Tygerberg in their thrilling encounter to help his team dismiss the squad from Cape Town with only five runs to spare.

The hosts’ first game against Marlow fell victim to the weather, as did most of the scheduled matchups on Friday, but the action continued on Saturday when Hoërskool Punt came up short against an invitational team from Paarl Boys’ High.

In a game where the bowlers on both sides struggled to maintain control, Dian Havenga stood out for Boishaai, taking three wickets for 25 and Umar Kajee did well for Hoërskool Punt to also get three dismissals, although it came at more of a cost.

Daniel Bakkes scored a massive 124 for Charlie Hofmeyr which his bowlers, Keahan Alexander (3/27) and Reagan Davids (3/36) could back up as they beat Dirkie Uys by 181 runs.

D’Neill du Toit wreaked havoc under the batsmen from Sentraal as DF Malan beat the boys from Bloemfontein by 8 wickets. Du Toit dismissed four Sentraal batsmen and conceded only six runs.

DF Malan could not repeat that success on the final day against Framesby despite starting strong by dismissing the side from Gqeberha for 103.

Logan Fleetwood took four DF Malan wickets for only 21 and Hanro van Jaarsveld took three for 18 as Framesby put on a bowling masterclass to dismiss the Cape Town boys 11 runs short of their target.

Zheemo Isaacs also got four wickets against Langenhoven Gimnasium, as the Paarl Gimnasium Invitational team won that match by 45 runs.

Sentraal’s Aldo Bezuidenhout took a fiver for only four runs as the team from Bloemfontein overcame Oudtshoorn.


Summarized Scorecards:

Worcester Gimnasium 101/6 (Christopher Ley 47; Heinrich Gericke 2/17, Ian van der Westhuysen 2/20, MC Barnard 2/24); Hoërskool Punt 102/4 (Ricus van Rooyen 44; Aiden Pekeur 2/10). Hoërskool Punt won by six wickets.

Paarl Boys’ High Invitational 171 (Extras 47, Gysbert le Roux 30, Tiaan Liebenberg 21; Umar Kajee 3/42, MC Barnard 2/26, Ian van der Westhuysen 2/40); Hoërskool Punt 122 (Extras 34, Ewan Schoeman 21; Dian Havenga 3/25, Stephen van Eyssen 2/19, Christian van Zuydam 2/20, Gysbert le Roux 2/27). Paarl Boys’ High Invitational won by 49 runs.

Paarl Gimnasium Invitational 222 (John Coetzee 75, Extras 36, Ruan Jacobs 26, Zheemo Isaacs 23; Ewald de Jager 3/34, Stephan Cloete 2/34); Langenhoven Gimnasium 177 (Ben Pierre du Plessis 58, Cameron Avontuur 37, Extras 37, Cameron Williams 28; Zheemo Isaacs 4/36, JC Swarts 2/6, CG Steenkamp 2/41). Paarl Gimnasium Invitational won by 45 runs.

Paarl Gimnasium Invitational 122/9 (Joe van Coller 26; Zander Hammond 4/27, MC Strydom 2/21); Marlow 124/4 (Cole Hurter 28*, Dawid Malan de Ridder 22*; Zheemo Isaacs 1/15). Marlow won by 6 wickets.

Glenwood House 140 (Dylan Penlington 46, Extras 30, Tristan van Zyl 22; Zander Hammond 4/21, Alex Meyer 3/19); Marlow 143/5 (MC Strydom 41*, Ockert du Preez 34, Robert van Zyl 23; Tristan van Zyl 2/39). Marlow won by 5 wickets.

Swartland 92 (Extras 22, Matthew Ferreira 19*; DF Theron 3/16, Michael Pienaar 2/16); Nico Malan 93/2 (Jean Joubert 44*, Jayden Olivier 28*; Carlo van der Merwe 2/11). Nico Malan won by 8 wickets.

Sentraal 105 (Liam Pretorius 23, Extras 21; D’Neill du Toit 4/6, Charl Botha 2/10, Reuben Braxton 2/39); DF Malan 108/2 (Charl Botha 37*, D’Neill du Toit 30*; Liam Pretorius 1/12). DF Malan won by 8 wickets.

Sentraal 83 (Emile le Roux 28; Denzey Plaatjies 4/24, Ronaldo Prins 2/3; Herman Augustyn 2/20); Oudtshoorn 55 (Extras 29, Lenathi Ngombuza 12; Aldo Bezuidenhout 5/4, Johan van den Heever 2/1, Liam Pretorius 2/13). Sentraal won by 28 runs.

Glenwood House 114/9 (Extras 27, Kyle Smith 21; Tiaan Liebenberg 20/3, Dian Havenga 2/24); Paarl Boys’ High Invitational 117/4 (Gysbert le Roux 42, Brent Goosen 37; Tristan van Zyl 2/21). Paarl Boys’ High won by 6 wickets.

Framesby 103 (Logan Fleetwood 39, Extras 24; Johan van Rensburg 2/9, D’Neill du Toit 2/12; Benjamin Grobler 2/20, Charl Botha 2/29); DF Malan 92 (D’Neill du Toit 20; Logan Fleetwood 4/20, Hanru van Jaarsveld 3/18, Taine Douw 2/16). Framesby won by 11 runs.

Die Brandwag 119/7 (Extras 39, Damian le Roux 32, Reagan Diedericks 22; Janu Fouche 3/21, Nicholis Martin 2/10, Daniel Theron 2/16); Strand 122/5 (Nathan Drotskie 34*, Extras 27, Nicholis Martin 26; Leander van Staden 2/24, Aidan Boshoff 2/30). Strand won by 5 wickets.


All the results:

Day 1 

Worcester Gimnasium (53/1) beat Curro Mosselbaai (50) by 9 wickets.

Swartland (86/2) beat Hoërskool Oudtshoorn (82) by 8 wickets.

Day 2 

Paarl Boys’ High (171) beat Hoërskool Punt (122) by 49 runs.

Daniel Pienaar (140/3) beat Hoërskool Bellville (134) by 7 wickets.

Framesby (91/0) beat Swartland (90) by 10 wickets.

Worcester Gimnasium (174) beat Tygerberg (170) by 4 runs.

Dirkie Uys (143/3) beat Curro Mosselbaai (142) by 7 wickets.

Strand (194/8) beat Outeniqua Invitational (192) by 2 wickets.

Nico Malan (160/4) beat Charlie Hofmeyr (159) by 6 wickets.

Marlow (143/5) beat Glenwood House (140) by 5 wickets.

Die Brandwag (40/2) beat Hoërskool Oudtshoorn (39) by 8 wickets.

Paarl Gimnasium Invitational (220) beat Langenhoven Gimnasium (172) by 50 runs.

DF Malan (108/2) beat Sentraal (105) by 8 wickets.

Bridgeton RPC (92/7) beat Jim Fouché (91) by 3 wickets.

Day 3

Hoërskool Punt (102/4) beat Worcester Gimnasium (101/6) by 6 wickets.

Charlie Hofmeyr (320/7) beat Dirkie Uys (139) by 181 runs.

Nico Malan (93/2) beat Swartland (92) by 8 wickets.

Strand (122/5) beat Die Brandwag (119/7) by 5 wickets.

Tygerberg (196/4) beat Curro Mosselbaai (91) by 105 runs.

Daniel Pienaar (227/8) beat Outeniqua Invitational (104/8) by 123 runs.

Framesby (103) beat DF Malan (92) by 11 runs.

Paarl Boys’ High Invitational (117/4) beat Glenwood House (115) by 6 wickets.

Sentraal (83) beat Hoërskool Oudtshoorn (55) by 28 runs.

Marlow (124/4) beat Paarl Gimnasium Invitational (122/9) by 6 wickets.

Hoërskool Bellville (92) beat Bridgeton RPC (41) by 51 runs.



Leave a Reply