SuperSportSchools Cricket

Raubenheimer takes two five-fors to give Border double victory

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 20 December 2017

Jason Raubenheimer hit an unbeaten 76 runs and took two five wicket-hauls, helping Border to double success in the T20 segment of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola under-19 Week on Tuesday.

The opening batsman’s 75 came off 62 balls (5 fours, 3 sixes) in their first match, which saw them beat North West by 56 runs. Josneil Long added a blistering 44 at a run a ball to help their side to 147/3 at the end of their allotted overs.

North West could not contend with the rampant attack from Border, the highest scores for them coming in the form of a 20 by Louis van Schalkwyk and 16 from Muhammad Suliman as Raubenheimer tore through the middle order and tail. His first five-for went for just 17 runs, giving his side an emphatic win.

Their second victory, was by a comfortable five wickets against Namibia in one of the lowest scoring matches of the day. They restricted the neighbouring nation to 100 in 18 overs as Raubenheimer claimed 5/33 and Luke Dallas 3/14.

The young allrounder was dismissed without scoring in the second match, but the mantle was picked up by Sinethemba Qeshile (35 off 34 balls) and Matt Dewar (24 off 26) who steered the team in a winning direction.

In other matches, Boland claimed double conquests when they held their nerve to beat Limpopo by two wickets in their morning match and claimed a more comprehensive, 74-run win over Northern Cape in the afternoon.

Their second match saw the top order set up an daunting, 168-run target for the opposition. Vezokhule Mntungwa, Daniel du Plessis and Samuel Henders scored 59*, 49 and 46 respectively, helping their side to 167/4.

The bowlers did well with Garreth Wolmarans leading the attack taking 3/18. Achille Cloete (2/6), Kieran Dreyden (2/8) and Andries Janse van Rensburg (2/9) returned two wickets each and Marshin Jefstha chipped in with 1/27.

It was not a great day for Northern Cape, who had suffered a 54-run beating at the hands of their neighbour, Free State earlier in the day.

The Central side also went on to claim victory by 18 runs against Limpopo in the afternoon thanks to Pheko Moletsane who took an notable 4/15, restricting Limpopo to 122/8 in their 20 overs after they were set a 141-run target.

Elsewhere, Eastern Province were one of the teams that returned some of the most solid wins of the day. They started the day by beating Namibia by 41 runs, followed by a nine-wicket thrashing of North West.

Sinesipho Tsotsa (41 off 35) and Kenan Smith (33 off 22) starred with the bat in their morning fixture, followed by David Rushmere (51 not out off 46) and Campbelle de Wet (38 off 35) in the afternoon.

Other double wins came from Western Province, who were successful against Easterns in the morning by 35 runs and South Western Districts by eight wickets in the afternoon. SWD’s day also started with loss, by 18 runs at the hands of KwaZulu-Natal Inland, who followed up their win with another 11-run triumph over Easterns.

Gauteng’s middle order came to the party in their morning clash against Mpumalanga after they were reduced to 14/5 by Jacques Vosloo (3/23) and Jon Hinrichsen (2/20). Curtis Campher top scored with an unbeaten 39-ball 48 as he and Ntokozo Mahlaba, who was also not out on 30 off 37, shared a 67-run partnership to get their side to 115/6.

Jared Goncalves-Jardine was the chief destroyer for the home side, taking an exceptional 4/8 in his four-over spell. He had good back up from Mzukhona Buthelezi (2-0-8-2) and Campher (3-0-14-2) who returned two wickets a piece, tumbling Mpumalanga to 84/9 for their 31-run win.

Their afternoon fixture saw them beat KwaZulu-Natal Coastal by 13 runs in spite of Matthew Montgomery’s 53 off 46 balls.

Summarised Scorecards (T20):

Round 1

Northerns 98/5 (Jan-Hendrik Pretorius 47*, Christopher Britz 29; Daelen Fynn 2/7); KwaZulu-Natal 101/6 (Matthew Montgomery 28, Thamsanqa Kumalo 21; Nico van Zyl 2/13, Sibusiso Maseko 2/14). KwaZulu-Natal won by four wickets.

Western Province 134/6 (Justin Broad 43, Siyanda Ngxangane 32; Mekyle Pillay 2/3, Kyle Saxby 2/19); Easterns 99 (Kyle Saxby 19; Josh Breed 3/14, Daniel Moriarty 3/30). Western Province won by 35 runs.

Gauteng 115/6 (Curtis Campher 48*, Siyanda Ngxangane 30*; Jacques Vosloo 3/23, Jon Hinrichsen 2/20); Mpumalanga 84/9 (Nathan Carstens 24; Jared Goncalves-Jardine 4/8, Mzukhona Buthelezi 2/8, Curtis Campher 2/14). Gauteng won by 31 runs.

Eastern Province 150/6 (Neo Pepeta 41, Keenan Smith 33; Petrus Burger 2/18); Namibia 108 (Erich von Mollendorff 17; Cole Schoeman 2/13, Campbell de Wet 2/19). Eastern Province won by 42 runs.

Free State 159/5 (Garnett Tarr 58, CP Klijnhans 47; Mason Zacharea 2/37); Northern Cape 105 (Andrew Louw 32; Donald Machalotsa 2/4, Tshediso Kheswa 2/10). Free State won by 54 runs.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 128/8 (Brandon McCullen 46*, Sinothando Mkhize 34; Athenkosi Kwitswana 2/11, Brian Jack 2/28); South Western Districts 110 (Extras 25; Mondli Khumalo 3/19, Brandon McCullen 2/8). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won by 18 runs.

Border 147/3 (Jason Raubenheimer 75*, Josneil Long 44*); North West 90 (Louis van Schalkwyk 20; Jason Raubenheimer 5/17). Border won by 57 runs.

Limpopo 98/8 (Glen Groenewald 27, Viraj Devdhara 23; Kieran Dreyden 3/7); Boland 99/8 (Achille Cloete 21, Sinalo Gobeni 20; Fumani Maluleke 3/24). Boland won by two wickets.

Round 2

Gauteng 136/8 (Joshua Richards 41; Daelen Fynn 3/20, Matthew Montgomery 2/13); KwaZulu-Natal 123 (Matthew Montgomery 53; Kgaudisa Molefe 2/16, Ntokozo Mahlaba 2/22). Gauteng won by 13 runs.

Boland 167/4 (Vezokhule Mntungwa 59*, Daniel du Plessis 49, Samuel Henderson 46; Barend Engelbrecht 2/22); Northern Cape 93 (Mkhuseli Mayekiso 34, Barend Engelbrecht 28; Gareth Wolmarans 3/18, Achille Cloete 2/6, Kieran Dreyden 2//8, Andries Janse van Rensburg 2/9). Boland won by 74 runs.

Free State 140/7 (CP Klijnhans 46, Garnett Tarr 35; Atwell Mokgoloboto 2/13); Limpopo 122/8 (Glen Groenewald 43, Driaan Kruger 26; Pheko Moletsane 4/16). Free State won by 18 runs.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 120/6 (Jared Campbell 25, Brandon McCullen 23*, Fraser Jones 22*; Mekyle Pillay 3/17); Easterns 109/7 (Luke Holland 36; Sean Gilson 3/16). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won by 11 runs.

Mpumalanga 105/6 (Wisdom Gumede 49*; Joseph Arendse 2/6, Christopher Britz 2/13, Sibusiso Maseku 2/16); Northerns 106/3 (Francois van Heerden 67). Northerns won by seven wickets.

South Western Districts 79 (Francois Barnard 19; Sisonke Mazele 3/12, Kyle Pluke 2/4); Western Province 80/2 (Justin Broad 22*, Karl Vermeulen 22). Western Province won by eight wickets.

Namibia 100 (Lohandré Louwrens 29; Jason Raubenheimer 5/33, Luke Dallas 3/14); Border 104/5 (Sinethemba Qeshile 35*, Matt Dewar 24). Border won by five wickets.

North West 106/6 (Le Roux White 34*; Raeez Harrison 3/12); Eastern Province 109/1 (David Rushmere 51*, Campbell de Wet 38). Eastern Province won by nine wickets.


Leave a Reply