SuperSportSchools Cricket

Rickelton’s century highlight of day three of CCKM 2014

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 20 December 2014

Gauteng’s opening batsman, Ryan Rickelton (112*), produced the outstanding performance of the third day of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week with his unbeaten century against KwaZulu-Natal Inland at St. Alban’s College’s Oval in Pretoria.

He was given a second chance early in his innings via a dropped catch and made KwaZulu-Natal Inland pay for the mistake. He struck ten fours and two sixes in his innings. Rickelton and his captain, Marques Ackerman (42), shared a 93-run partnership over the third wicket. KwaZulu-Natal Inland’s captain, Jarryd Edy (80), helped his side to 220 runs in their innings with his half-century.

Hosts, Northerns’ captain Willie Ludick (75) and Henco Vorstman (51*) almost got their side from a difficult situation at 91/7 to almost securing a memorable victory over Western Province. They shared a 105-run partnership over the eight wicket before Ludick was caught by Emmanuel Seberame of the penultimate over from Dayyaan Galiem.

Northerns needed 15 runs of nine deliveries after their captain’s departure, but fell six runs short. Western Province’s Matthew Christensen (80) continued his excellent form with the bat in hand at the tournament.

Free State managed to be victorious in their nail-biter by defending a total of 103 runs against KwaZulu-Natal. The Free Staters defeated KwaZulu-Natal by six runs. The losing side lost their final three wickets for only a solitary run.

Seam bowler, Marno van Greuning (2/9), got the final wicket as he trapped Keegan Foss (10) leg before wicket. Van Greuning bowled very well as he bowled 8.2 overs conceding only just more than a run an over. Spin bowler, Sean Whitehead (3/13), got rid of Jesse Smit (1) and Bradley Wheal (0) in the previous over to get his side to the edge of victory. Whitehead and the other spin bowler, Lyle Heilbron (2/17), both bowled nine economical overs which kept the pressure on KwaZulu-Natal’s batsmen. Free State’s opening batsman, Koot Pienaar (41), also deserves a mention after continuing his good form with the bat.

The best bowling performance of the day belonged to North West’s off spinner, Lesego Senokwane, who picked up six wickets for 36 runs in his side’s seven wicket victory over Limpopo.

Boland managed to beat Eastern Province with two wickets with spin bowler, Luke Philander (4/23), making the most valuable contribution.

Fixtures for today:

Western Province vs. Boland (St. Alban’s College)
Gauteng vs. North West (Tuks Oval)
Northerns vs. Eastern Province (Pretoria Boys’ High – Hofmeyr)
KwaZulu-Natal Inland vs. Namibia (Groenkloof)
Free State vs. Easterns (Irene Villagers)
KwaZulu-Natal vs. Border (Mamelodi)
South Western Districts vs. Mpumalanga (Sinoville)
Griqualand West vs. Limpopo (TUT)

Summarised Scorecards:

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 220/8 (Jarryd Edy 80, Gavin Morris 34; Linaldo Phillips 2/11); Gauteng 222/3 (Ryan Rickelton 112*, Marques Ackerman 42). Gauteng won by seven wickets.

Western Province 210 (Matthew Christensen 80, Kyle Verreynne 30; Dean Foxcroft 4/38, Stefan Klopper 3/41); Northerns 204/8 (Willie Ludick 75, Henco Vorstman 51*; Emmanual Sebareme 3/31). Western Province won by six runs.

Eastern Province 163 (Extras 29, Matthew Breetzke 28; Luke Philander 4/23); Boland 164/8 (Isma-eel Gafieldien 49, Mark Adrianatos 26). Boland won by two wickets.

Free State 103 (Koot Pienaar 41; Mlungi Gcado 3/11); KwaZulu-Natal 97 (Jerome Bossr 28; Sean Whitehead 3/13, Marno van Greuning 2/9). Free State won by six runs.

South Western Districts 141 (Jean Heunis 48; Michau du Preez 3/21); Namibia 142/1 (Zane Green 52*, SJ Loftie-Eaton 47*). Namibia won by nine wickets.

Limpopo 128 (Tlangi Mushwana 31; Lesego Senokwane 6/36); North West 129/3 (Tshepang Motjale 38, Tommie le Roux 31, Ruan Pretorius 30). North West won by seven wickets.

Easterns 138 (David Zweni 32; Thabang Sqoko 4/23); Mpumalanga 139/6 (Benjamin van Niekerk 57, Matthew Nepgen 31). Mpumalanga won by four wickets.

Griqualand West 181 (Reuben Visagie 58, Roché Rossouw 37; Sithembile Langa 3/28, Winray Christoffels 2/13); Border 182/6 (Bathandwa Isaac 49, Mcedisi Malika 36; Matthew Rohlandt 2/19). Border won by four wickets.


Leave a Reply