SuperSportSchools Cricket

Van Buuren takes the spotlight on opening day of CCKM

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 16 December 2016

News MitchellvanBuurenGauteng’s Mitchell van Buuren (106) stole some of the spotlight from his captain, Wiaan Mulder, with his century on the opening day of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week in Bloemfontein. Week in Bloemfontein as somewhat of captain Wiaan stolen Mulder.

Van Buuren and Mulder (54) joined forces in the middle with their team in trouble with the score at 14/3. The two national u19-players managed to add 109 runs before Mulder was trapped leg before by Zakariya Paruk (3/29).
Van Buuren faced 123 deliveries in his innings of which he dispatched 12 past the boundary rope which included six maximums. He was also was the pick of his team’s bowling attack with figures of 2/26.

While Van Buuren recorded the only century of the opening day, the only five-wicket haul came from Eastern Province spinner Keenan Smith (5/68). Smith’s bowling caused Northerns to stumble to 110/8 before tailender Nkosinathi Msiza (60*) made the tail wag to 201/9 with his unbeaten half-century.

The hosts, Free State’s, match against Easterns ended in a draw. Easterns’ Jarred Alder (77) and Brandon Harwood (54*) helped their team to 224/6 with half-centuries before the team was forced to declare. Free State’s spin bowler Phillip Visser (3/55) caused most of the damage.

Free State reached 145/5 thanks to Dilivio Ridgaard (50). He lost his wicket not long after reaching his milestone after attempting a sweep shot.

Western Province won on the first innings in their clash against KwaZulu-Natal Inland. The losing side was restricted to 119 runs thanks to some good bowling by Michael Cohen (3/19).

Jesse Christensen (51) and Mihlali Mpongwana (40*) made the biggest contributions towards Western Province’s total of 171/9.

South Western Districts also secured a victory on the first innings mostly thanks to some excellent bowling by Joshua Kleu (3/0) and Unathi Mbathane (3/1). Kleu bowled only one over of his swing bolwing in which he managed not to concede a single run. Mbathane bowled four overs of which three was maidens as Mpumalanga was restricted to a mere 40/9.

Bernard Vorster (18) was the only batsman of Mpumalanga who managed to reach double figures in his side’s first innings. Vorster (21*) with some help from Ozayr Karodia (21*) helped their team in the second innings to keep Namibia from securing an outright victory.

Summarised Scorecards (Time Cricket):

Gauteng first innings 241/7 decl. (Mitchell van Buuren 106, Muhammed Mayet 57, Wiaan Mulder 54; Zakariya Paruk 3/29); KwaZulu-Natal first innings 147/8 (Jordan Grobbelaar 44*; Mitchell van Buuren 2/26). Match drawn.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland first innings 119 (Eathan Bosch 38, Sean Gilson 34; Michael Cohen 3/19, Sisonke Mazele 2/27); Western Province first innings 171/9 decl. (Jesse Christensen 51, Mihlali Mpongwana 40*; Jerome Gengan 3/50, Sean Gilson 2/11); KwaZulu-Natal Inland second innings 48/1 (Jiveshan Pillay 23*). Western Province won on first innings.

Northerns first innings 201/9 decl. (Nkosinathi Msiza 60*, Ruben Trumpelmann 36; Keenan Smith 5/68); Eastern Province first innings 154/5 (Matthew Breetzke 77, Chris Benjamin 36; Ruben Trumpelmann 2/24). Match drawn.

Easterns first innings 224/6 decl. (Jarred Alder 77, Brandon Harwood 54*, Louis Geldenhuys 37; Phillip Visser 3/55); Free State first innings 145/5 (Dilivio Ridgaard 50, Gerald Coetzee 32*; Devon Botha 2/31). Match drawn.

Boland first innings 221/6 decl. (Keagan Whitten 58*, Bernu Engelbrecht 43, André Hanekom 35; Louis van Schalkwyk 2/29); North West first innings 135/4 (Louis van Schalkwyk 49*, Ruan van Abo 32). Match drawn.

South Western Districts first innings 224/9 decl. (Grant Esau 82, Joshua Kleu 65; Bernard Vorster 2/41); Mpumalanga first innings 40/9 decl. (Joshua Kleu 3/0, Unathi Mbathane 3/1, Richard Papenfus 2/11); South Western Districts second innings 17/0 (Levin Muller 11*); Mpumalanga second innings 75/3 (Bernard Vorster 21*, Ozayr Karodia 21*). SWD won on first innings.

Northern Cape first innings 158 (Simon Muller 40; Akhona Mnyaka 3/33, Luke Dallas 3/37); Border first innings 164/4 (Josneil Long 62*, Sinethemba Qeshile 58; Chadwyn November 3/38). Border won on first innings.

Namibia first innings 152 (Eben van Wyk 75, Niko Davin 43; Ruvan Kruger 4/26); Limpopo first innings 114/9 decl. (Timothy Elphinstone 39; Ben Shikongo 3/11, Donovan Zealand 3/24); Namibia second innings 64/2 decl. (Lohan Louwrens 54*; Nyiko Mavulwani 2/15); Limpopo second innings 34/4 (Petrus Burger 2/15). Namibia won on first innings.



Leave a Reply