SuperSportSchools Cricket

Victor hero on first day of Coca-Cola T20 Championship for Grey

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News News , at 20 February 2015

Grey College of Bloemfontein comfirmed themselves as the favourites of Cricket South Africa’s Coca-Cola T20 Championship by finishing the opening day of the finals tournament in Stellenbosch as the only side with two victories to their name. Their opening batsman, Wihan Victor (114) produced the performance of the day with his century against Hilton College in the side from Bloemfontein’s opening match against Hilton College.  

Victor struck his runs from a mere 51 deliveries. He struck a dozen of sixes and four fours as he took the champions of the Sunfoil Dolphins’ bowling attack apart. Grey’s spin bowler, Charl Swanepoel, also produced an excellent bowling display as he picked up four wickets for the cost of only 13 runs. 

Grey College’s other victory on the first day came against Paarl Boys’ High. Raynard van Tonder (55) weighed in with a half-century. Swanepoel (3/24) was once again the pick of the bowlers.  

Menlopark of Pretoria kept their hopes alive to reach the final of the tournament with a suprising 50-run victory over St. Andrew’s College of Grahamstown after reaching only 104/9 in their allotted 20 overs. Menlopark with Dillon Mmako (3/7) on the forefront bowled St. Andrew’s College out for only 54 runs. Thinus Viljoen (3/16) and Willem Britz (2/5) also did more than their fare share. 

The team from the Jacaranda City suffered a defeat of 55 runs in their first match of the tournament against Paarl Boys’ High. The team from Paarl’s Justin Wubbeling (95*) just missed out on recording his century in the match. 

Summarised Scorecards:

Round 1

Grey College 195/3 (Wihan Victor 114 (51b), Neil Durow 29*); Hilton College 79 (Ross Yammin 14; Philip Visser 4/13). Grey College won by 116 runs.

Potchefstroom Volkskool 84 (Ruan van Abo 14, Charles Louw 14; Thomas Lane 3/11); St. Andrew’s College 85/1 (Thomas Lane 33, Anthony Dakin 28*). St. Andrew’s College won by nine wickets.

Paarl Boys’ High 144/4 (Justin Wubbeling 95*; Willem Britz 1/13); Menlopark 89/8 (Dillon Mmako 21*; Jean-Luc Cilliers 2/15). Paarl Boys’ High won by 55 runs.

Round 2

Hilton College 175/3 (Gavin Morris 52*, Angus Curtis 47, Jonathan Jewels 46; André Taljaard 1/8); Potchefstroom Volkskool 119 (Louis van Schalkwyk 31; Rourke Lauryssen 2/18). Hilton College won by 56 runs.

Grey College 150/5 (Raynard van Tonder 55, Neil Durrow 33; Milton Mackier 2/48); Paarl Boys’ High 138/7 (Tiaan du Plessis 56; Charl Swanepoel 3/24). Grey College won by 12 runs.

Menlopark 104/9 (Bernard Snyman 22; James Quarmby 2/14, Thomas Lane 2/17); St. Andrew’s College 54 (Anthony Dakin 14; Dillon Mmako 3/7, Thinus Viljoen 3/16, Willem Britz 2/5). Menlopark won by 50 runs.



Leave a Reply