SuperSportSchools Cricket

Wynberg Boys’ High completes unique double with SA Schools’ cricket and rugby captains in 2022

By Hannes Nienaber , in cricket Cricket | News Schools , at 19 December 2022

A pretty unique occurrence happened this year with both the SA Schools’ captains for cricket and rugby hailed from the same school, Wynberg Boys’ High in Cape Town.

Juan James was named the SA Schools’ cricket captain of 2022 at the conclusion of the annual Khaya Majola Week in Stellenbosch.

His classmate Zachary Porthen captained Western Province to unofficial champions of the Craven Week earlier this year in Cape Town. Porthen was also named the SA Schools’ rugby captain becoming the first player ever from Wynberg who had this honour.

James is also the first player from Wynberg Boys’ High to captain the national school’s cricket side.

It is only the third time in history that pupils from the same school were named captain of the two sports in the same year.

The previous time this happened was in 1989 when two boys from Diocesan College (Bishops) had the honour of leading the national sides. Ian Solomon (cricket) and Michael Ehrentraut (rugby) were the players from Bishops who made their school proud.

The first time it happened was in 1980 when Joubert Strydom (cricket) and Jurie Erwee (rugby) of Grey College in Bloemfontein were named SA Schools’ captains.

The South African Schools’ cricket side was first chosen in 1940 after the inaugural Nuffield Week (later became Khaya Majola Week). The first SA Schools’ rugby team was only chosen in 1974.

For the complete lists of SA Schools’ captains visit the following pages on our site:

SA Schools’ Cricket Captains (1940-2022)
SA Schools’ Rugby Captains (1974-2022)


Leave a Reply